As we’re drawing close to the time of year when families and friends gather for celebrations of various holidays, I wanted to talk with a variety of artists about their holiday traditions. Kicking off the series is songwriter, composer, and actor Joshua Smith. A Nashville, TN native, Joshua received an Emmy nomination this year for his song, “Our Time Will Come”, written for the hit daytime drama, “The Young And The Restless”. He’s also been featured in the new Weinstein film, “Butter”. His latest EP was produced by Deron Johnson and Andrea Remanda and he’s working on a full-length project to be released soon. Enjoy listening to Joshua’s music around the interview and find out more about his holiday traditions.

http://bandcamp.com/EmbeddedPlayer/v=2/track=3208590817/size=venti/bgcol=FFFFFF/linkcol=235c2c/

—–
JW: What your family/friends tradition for holidays at the end of the year? If you don’t have a tradition, what was one of your most memorable and fun holiday gatherings (around that same time)?

JS: I sing Christmas music, in particular year ’round… I’ve seriously been singing, “White Christmas”, from the film – Bing Crosby, blah blah blah – since June. By the end of the year, sometime before Thanksgiving usually, because have big family reunions on Thanksgiving in my family every year, we’ll start throwing in the black and whites and other classics… Obviously “White Christmas” is one, but “It’s a Wonderful Life”, “A Christmas Story”, “Plains Trains and Automobiles”, up to more recents like “Grinch” and then back to “Peanuts Christmas” and “Miracle on 34th” – all the classics!

JW: Name a quintessential holiday recording for this time year and tell why
that such a special project for you/your family?

JS: Holy crap… This is embarrassing… But, Amy Grant’s Christmas Album is for the keeping. Timeless. I keep Vince Guiraldi in the car year ’round – “A Peanuts Christmas” Album. OOOF SO GOOD! Anything Nat King Cole or Bing. Stevie Wonder’s Christmas song, “That’s What Christmas Means to Me”. Some Christmas music is crap – but for the most part I love it all! Mariah Carey can have me for Christmas all day long!

JW: Any new books/e-books or films that you’re looking forward this holiday?

JS: Honestly I haven’t been paying much attention to this year’s holiday up-and-comings… But I’m sure Jim Carrey or Tim Allen will come out with something I love… And if it’s got Zooey Deschanel or Will Farrell in it – Love it. Guaranteed!

JW: Looking back through this year, what were some of your favorite
performances of your own music?

JS: I moved back to Nashville from Los Angeles this year, and documented it as a national tour while interviewing other artists about what success means to them. When I got to Nashville I carried on to New York and was able to work toward finishing my first solo full-length album. This whole adventure, the process of making this Documentary, and the experience of finding out what success means to others was my favorite part of this year. It’s something I’ve been working on doing for 3 years, and it couldn’t have been more perfect! I recently went back to New York to finish the doc and play a show at Cafe Wha?. This show was definitely my favorite show of the year! I got to play my first show in New York at the venue where Bob Dylan played his first show in New York, and where Jimi Hendrix was discovered. I also had the chance to play a private event for Marchesa Fashion and open for Lianne La Havas. Met Maxwell at that show, and he said “I’m in love with your voice!” That was pretty friggin” cool!! He asked for my autograph and I said, “NO MAN!! You’re Maxwell, are you kidding?” I planned to give it to him anyway (obviously) but he had already left!! I was pretty embarrassed about that.

JW: What’s on tap for you in the first three months of 2013?

JS: I’ve been working on so much this year, I have no idea what’s going to come first – but it’s all going to drop sometime in the first part of 2013 looks like… A new album, featuring a lot of material that spans the last year or two of writing, the documentary I mentioned earlier, “Home on the Road” with a photo book of my journal and photos from the journey… Mostly, I look forward to playing out more regularly! I can’t wait to put a Nashville band together and start touring – that’s my biggest goal right now while all this other stuff is coming together.

For more about Joshua, visit his website and be sure to connect with him at Facebook.

2 thoughts on “Holiday Memories Q&A with Joshua.

Leave a Reply

