Austin-based producer/performer Chris Medders aka Eversive aka Brother Wolf kicks off the next leg on the Holiday Q&A. This time, I’m checking in with Austin-based producers and DJs on their holiday plans. Chris and releases from his imprint Sole Glow Collective have been in the Groove Loves Melody mix a lot this year, so let’s see how this holiday is shaping up for him.

What your family/friends tradition for holidays at the end of the year? If you don’t have a tradition, what was one of your most memorable and fun holiday gatherings (around that same time)?

My grandma’s birthday falls in the first week of December so we usually do a “White Elephant” style gift exchange and throw a little party to celebrate both Christmas and Memaw’s bornday.

Name a quintessential holiday recording for this time year and tell why its special for you/your family?

I’d say my fondest nostalgia is invoked by that Alvin and the Chipmunks Christmas album. I used to LOVE that joint back in the day. I’m sure I played it enough to make my parents grow pretty sick of it. HAHAHA!

Any new books/e-books or films that you’re looking forward this holiday?

This flick “The End of Time” looks really dope. I enjoy these kind of documentary style flicks that rely more heavily on imagery than words to invoke a deeper contemplation and tell a story. The focus of the content is really relevant to what my mind has been orbiting around as of late, mainly how our experience of time is changing drastically, and how a lot of the ancient wisdom the layman laughs off and scoffs at is being affirmed through modern scientific discovery. I think we are in for some really strange and interesting experiences in the next 20 years……it’s gonna be quite the ride, but there’s some definitive growth in store. We gonna learn one way or another.

Looking back through this year, what were some of your favorite performances of your own music?

I recently dusted off the mic and started incorporating my skills as an MC into my set again, so the first performance back on the mic was a lot of fun. I forgot how much I enjoyed that. I always enjoy catching people off guard because apparently I don’t really fit the mold of “what a rapper looks like”. All that is silly to me. The release party for my album “Void Magick”, which I released under my Eversive moniker, was a lot of fun. The lineup was flawless front to back and it felt good to have so much support for something I put a lot of work into.

What’s on tap for your in the first three months of 2014?

At this point I don’t have anything slated, but I do have a whole grip of tracks that I’m ready to let go of and share, so expect some new styles soon.

If 2013 will remembered for one thing, if would be_______.

I’d say the most important occurrence in my 2013 was a 2-day window of very intense visionary experience. I had been fasting and focusing on purifying my psyche…..and my perception opened up on a very intense level. I really have no words for it so I won’t elaborate further. It’s inspired me to be more open and loving in my experience on this planet in a lasting way. I have my ups and downs but there is a general quickening that I’ve experienced as a result. Lots of beauty to behold in this world. I am blessed.

Connect with Eversive / Brother Wolf at Soundcloud and Twitter.

Leave a Reply

